GBSLEP Board Directors

Directors of the LEP are drawn from the private sector, local authorities and Universities and Colleges. There are a total of 18 Directors, eight from the business community, seven from local authorities and two representing higher/further education. The LEP is business-led and business community representatives have been recruited with the aim of reflecting the geography of the area as well as different sizes and sectors of commerce and industry.

It was announced on 9 September 2016 that Andy Street has decided to step down as Chair of the GBSLEP to apply to be the Conservative candidate for the West Midlands Mayoral election. Steve Hollis, former chair at KPMG in Birmingham who has served as deputy at the LEP from May 2011, has taken the reins as GBSLEP Chair.


steve-hollis  chris-loughran-v2
 Steve Hollis, GBSLEP ChairFormer Midlands Chairman, KPMG

Chris Loughran, Deputy Chair for Delivery

Vice Chairman, Deloitte

 anita-bhalla  saqib-bhatti  andrew-cleaves
Anita Bhalla, Creative City PartnershipChair, Performance Birmingham Ltd Saqib Bhatti, Growing Businesses and representing SMEsAssociate, Younis Bhatti & Co Ltd  Andrew Cleaves, Improving SkillsPrincipal and Chief Executive, Birmingham Metropolitan College
 pat-hanlon  simon-marks  matthew-rhodes
 Pat Hanlon, Access to FinanceHandelsbanken Simon Marks, Optimising AssetsPartner, Arcadis  Matthew Rhodes, Stimulating InnovationManaging Director, Encraft Ltd

Local Authority Representatives

john-clancy  george-adamson  cllr-grosvenor-3
 Cllr John ClancyBirmingham City Council  Cllr George AdamsonCannock Chase District Council  Cllr Richard GrosvenorEast Staffordshire District Council
 mike-wilcox  bob-sleigh-2  steve-claymore  cllr-greg-chance
Cllr Mike WilcoxLichfield District Council  Cllr Bob SleighSolihull Metropolitan Borough Council  Cllr Steve ClaymoreTamworth District Council  Cllr Greg ChanceOn behalf of North Worcestershire Local Authorities

Education Representative

Company Secretary

 Mike Hopkins, Further Education RepresentativePrincipal, South and City College  Currently vacant  Outgoing directorsAlan VolkaertsTracy Westall

Sir Albert Bore

Cllr John Campion