GBSLEP Board Directors

Directors of the LEP are drawn from the private sector, local authorities and Universities and Colleges. There are a total of 18 Directors, eight from the business community, seven from local authorities and two representing higher/further education. The LEP is business-led and business community representatives have been recruited with the aim of reflecting the geography of the area as well as different sizes and sectors of commerce and industry.

It was announced on 9 September 2016 (read more) that Andy Street has decided to step down as Chair of the GBSLEP to apply to be the Conservative candidate for the West Midlands Mayoral election. Steve Hollis, former chair at KPMG in Birmingham, who has served as deputy at the LEP from May 2011 has been appointed Chair of the GBSLEP.


steve-hollis  chris-loughran-v2  anita-bhalla
Steve Hollis, GBSLEP Chair

Former Midlands Chairman, KPMG

Register of Interests

Chris Loughran, Deputy Chair for Delivery

Vice Chairman, Deloitte

Register of Interests

 Anita Bhalla

Creative City Partnership

Chair, Performance Birmingham Ltd

Register of Interests

   saqib-bhatti  andrew-cleaves
Mike Lyons

Improving Connectivity

Programme Director for West Midlands at High Speed 2 (HS2) Ltd.

Saqib Bhatti

Growing Businesses and representing SMEs

Associate, Younis Bhatti & Co Ltd

Register of Interests

Andrew Cleaves

Improving Skills

Principal and Chief Executive, Birmingham Metropolitan College

Register of Interests

 pat-hanlon  simon-marks  matthew-rhodes
Pat Hanlon

Access to Finance


Register of Interests

Simon Marks

Optimising Assets

Partner, Arcadis

Register of Interests

Matthew Rhodes

Stimulating Innovation

Managing Director, Encraft Ltd

Register of Interests

Local Authority Representatives

john-clancy  george-adamson  cllr-grosvenor-3
Cllr John Clancy

Leader of Birmingham City Council

Register of Interests

Cllr George Adamson

Cannock Chase District Council

Register of Interests

Cllr Richard Grosvenor

East Staffordshire District Council

Register of Interests

 mike-wilcox  bob-sleigh-2  steve-claymore  cllr-greg-chance
Cllr Mike Wilcox

Lichfield District Council

Register of Interests

Cllr Bob Sleigh

Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council

Register of Interests

Cllr Steve Claymore

Tamworth District Council

Register of Interests

Cllr Greg Chance

On behalf of North Worcestershire Local Authorities

Register of Interests

Education Representatives

Young Person’s Representative

mike-hopkins-2    Sophie Drake no background
Mike Hopkins

Further Education Representative

Principal, South and City College

Register of Interests

Sir David Eastwood

Higher Education Representative

Vice Chancellor, University of Birmingham

Register of Interests

Sophie DrakeYoung Person’s Representative

Outgoing directors

Alan Volkaerts

Tracy Westall

Sir Albert Bore

Cllr John Campion

Alternate Board Members

Cllr Ian Courts, Deputy Leader of Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council

Register of Interests

Cllr Ian Ward, Birmingham City Council

Register of Interests

Cllr Ian Hardiman, Wyre Forest District Council

Register of Interests

Dawn Ward, Burton and South Derbyshire College

Register of Interests

Daniel Cook, Leader of Tamworth Borough Council

Register of Interests